Church Government

One of the strengths of FBCG is its congregational form of government. This places responsibility for certain key decisions in the hands of the members, generally expressed through the right to vote at our Annual Meeting, either in person or by proxy.

Two items that must be approved by members are slates of candidates for the Executive Council, the church’s governing board, and for the Nominating Committee, which recommends candidates to fill expiring (or vacated) terms of Executive Council members. Executive Council members can serve two three-year terms; Nominating Committee members serve one-year terms. Those filling vacated positions serve the balance of the term.To allow for review and consideration of both slates, we provide adequate notice to the membership.

The Nominating Committee chair is Doug Walton (dougwalton@tyndale.com)., please contact him with any questions.

**The Nominating Committee has determined that there will be no vacant positions for Executive Council for the 2014-15 fiscal year beginning September 1. All four members whose terms are expiring are willing to serve a second three-year term. They are Rick Bloom, Dave LeVan, Steve Luby and Darrell Wright. Absent an unexpected vacancy, nominations will not be solicited.**

FBCG is committed to a “policy governance” form of government, which means that our congregation does ministry (outreach and care), our staff provides management (equipping and coordination), our Senior Pastor provides leadership (vision, direction, teaching) and our Executive Council provides governance (accountability and support). While the Executive Council provides governance, we believe that the membership of the church must participate in the governance of the church through the approval of Executive Council membership and major decisions affecting the church family. To learn more about the policy governance form of church government, please read the book, Winning on Purpose: How to Organize Congregations to Succeed in Their Mission by John Kaiser. There are copies available at the East and West Campus libraries.

FBCG is governed through its Bylaws and Guiding Principles . The Bylaws are rarely changed; however the Guiding Principles are reviewed and updated by the Executive Council every year.

We expect each member of the Executive Council to meet the qualifications of the position by being of the highest Christian character and being an example of ministry and service through FBCG. Members of the Executive Council are nominated through a nominating committee process

The Executive Council meets several times during the year.
View Current Minutes View Past Minutes

Current Executive Council

Dwright_event_ec1

Darrell Wright
Church Chairman
First term ending 2014
dwright@fbcg.com

Dave LeVan
Vice Chairman
First term ending 2014
dlevan@fbcg.com

Chuck Thomas
Secretary
Second term ending 2015
cthomas@fbcg.com

Doug Kight
Treasurer
Non-EC member
dkight@fbcg.com

COFFEY-BRIAN

Brian Coffey
Senior Pastor
Ex-officio member
bcoffey@fbcg.com

Bloom_Rick_2x3_sm

Rick Bloom
First term ending 2014
rbloom@fbcg.com

Chrusciel_Russ_2x3_sm

Russ Chrusciel
First term ending 2016
rchruscial@fbcg.com

Steve Luby
First term ending 2014
sluby@fbcg.com

Nimick_Stephanie_2x3_sm

Stefanie Nimick
First term ending 2015
snimick@fbcg.com

Ken O’Brien
Second term ending 2016
kobrien@fbcg.com

Prost_David_2x3_sm

David Prost
First term ending 2016
dprost@fbcg.com

Rooker_Harry_2x3_sm

Harry Rooker
First term ending 2015
hrooker@fbcg.com

Wildman_Amy_2x3_sm

Amy Wildman
First term ending 2016
awildman@fbcg.com